Sun, 05 Jul 2020

Lorch the big winner at glittering PSL awards

20 May 2019, 07:12 GMT+10

Cape Town - Thembinkosi Lorch was the big winner at the Premier Soccer League's glittering awards banquet in Durban on Sunday night, making partial amends for Orlando Pirates' heart-breaking loss to Mamelodi Sundowns in the Absa Premiership title race this season.

The 25-year-old attacking midfielder scooped the PSL Footballer of the Season and Absa Premiership Player's Player of the Season gongs for a great personal impression during a season which ended with his side being pipped to the league crown on the last day of the season.

He edged out the Sundowns duo of Themba Zwane and Hlompho Kekana for the prestigious individual awards, although Kekana did not go home empty-handed as he was voted Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season among other awards for the Sundowns crew.

In a campaign that also saw him rise to the Bafana Bafana level, Lorch scored nine goals and made five assists, for a 31% involvement in all Pirates' goals in the league.

The Footballer of the Season award was voted exclusively by the 16 coaches in the Premiership, while the Player's Player was voted by players, but players were not allowed to vote for their team-mates.

Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane expectedly won the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season for the second year in a row after guiding Sundowns to a successful defence of the Premiership title.

SuperSport United's Teboho Mokoena won the Young Player of the Season award, while his team-mate Ronwen Williams was named Goalkeeper of the Season and the referee's honour went to Abongile Tom.


Footballer of the Season: Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Ricardo Nacimento (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Young player of the Season: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Players' Player of the Season: Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

MTN8 Last man standing: Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy)

Nedbank Most promising player: Terrence Mashego (TS Galaxy)

Multichoice Diski Challenge Player of the Tournament: Sipho Chaine (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Diski Shield Player of the Tournament: Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows)

Absa Premiership Goal of the Season: Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates) vs Polokwane City

Referee of the Season: Abongile Tom

Assistant Referee of the Season: Emmanuel de Sani

More Florida News

Access More

Sign up for Florida State News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!